Linbury Prize Design Festival

Posted on 23 Fri 10 2015

To tie in with this year's Linbury Prize, there is a festival of design events hosted at the National Theatre, Theatre Design - Stages of Creation.

There's an overview of the events below - click on the titles for more information and to book.

Workshop: Creative Design and Wig-making for Theatre 
Tuesday 1 December, 1 – 6pm 
Create a dramatic piece of wig design on a grand scale.

Putting it into Practice – Theatre Design Day
Monday 7 December, 11am – 3.30pm 
A day of talks and discussion on various aspects of theatre design at the NT and elsewhere.

Talk: Designing
Tuesday 8 December, 3.30-5pm

Meet the designers responsible for creating the world of - Rae Smith (Set Design), Katrina Lindsay (Costume Design) and Lysander Ashton of 59 Productions (Projections).

Wednesday 9 December, 5 – 6.30pm
As a theatre designer what should sustainability mean to your practice?
Portfolio Advisory Day 
Wednesday 2 December, 10.30am – 5.30pm
Bring your portfolio and meet with representatives from the performing arts industry including designers, directors, and production managers.
To book, and for more information about the time slots throughout the day, please email 
Talk: Beyond the Linbury Prize
Thursday 10 December, 5.30-6.30pm
Meet the Linbury Prize winners from 2013 to hear about their experiences as finalists and of going on to realise their winning designs.
(Booking details to follow)
Talk: Jocelyn Herbert Archive talk 
Friday 11 December, 4-5.30pm
Designer, Sophie Jump, presents an illustrated talk of the work of Jocelyn Herbert through her Archive.
(Booking details to follow)

Placeholder 1

Placeholder 2

Latest News


The winners of the prestigious Linbury Prize for Stage Design 2017 were announced at a ceremony at the National Theatre on 1 November. This year’s overall winner of the Linbury Prize 2017 is Basia Binkowska, who will be designing Othello / Macbeth for the Lyric Hammersmith.

This year the twelve finalists are: Laura Albeck, Emily Bates, Basia Binkowska, Eleanor Bull, Abby Clarke, Dylan Howells, Maxwell Nicholson-Lailey, Sonya Plenefisch, Khadija Raza, Fin Redshaw, Jessica Staton and Jasmine Swan.

We are delighted to announce that Lyric Theatre, Hammersmith, The Mercury Theatre, Colchester, Phoenix Dance Theatre, and Unicorn Theatre will be 2017's four commissioning theatre companies.

For further information on these companies, visit our Companies page.